Amazon is the largest online retailer in the world. They have millions of members who buy and sell on their site regularly. So, they have some incentive to make canceling your account with them a little more complicated than it needs to be. Many people struggle to figure out how to cancel their Amazon account, so IO Scout put together this handy guide to help you out.
Why Delete Your Amazon Account?
There are lots of reasons you may want to delete your Amazon account. If you don’t really use Amazon anymore, or if you disagree with their controversial business practices and HR policies, you might want to cancel your account with the company. Or maybe you spend too much time and money on Amazon and are trying to practice some self-discipline. Whatever your reason, what’s important is that you’ve decided to close the account.
How to Delete an Amazon Account?
When you click on the “Help” button at the bottom of the Amazon webpage, you’ll find a list of topics.
At the bottom of the list is a “Need More Help?” option. Under this tab will be a “Contact Us” link.
Under “Contact Us,” you’ll be brought to a page with a few options. You will need to select one of the contact options to get in touch with Amazon and have them close your account.
How to close your account via email?
If you choose to contact Amazon through email, write a message detailing why you wish to close your account. You should hear back from a representative within 12 hours.
How to close your account via phone?
You can also call Amazon customer service at 888-280-4331 and ask a customer service rep to close your account for you. Or, you can give your phone number on the website and have Amazon call you.
How to close your account via online chat?
The third option is to reach out to customer service using the online chat feature, which you can find at the top of the “Contact Us” page when you click on the link.
If you’re looking to close an Amazon Seller account, you can downgrade your account type from “professional” to “individual” under your account settings. There will be an option to close your account. You can also contact customer service using the above methods and have a representative delete your account for you.
The New Way to Close Your Account
Amazon recently updated the process for deleting an account, which puts a focus on contacting customer service. You will need an Amazon representative to close your account for you.
The Old Way to Close Your Account
There used to be more steps in the process of closing an Amazon account, but the result was still the same: contacting a customer service representative. You may still find a lot of articles online that show you how to close an account using the old Amazon website. Be aware that the steps and screenshots used by these articles have become obsolete.
What Happens When You Delete Your Amazon Account?
When your Amazon account closes, you will lose access to the services that came along with it, like Audible.com, as well as digital content associated with your account, like Kindle ebooks, music, apps, and videos you got through Amazon.
You will also lose the ability to use Amazon gift cards and return or refund items you ordered using that account. If you have any rented textbooks from Amazon, you won’t be able to return them, but you will still be held responsible for outstanding rentals.
Anything you posted on Amazon’s site, such as reviews, will be deleted as well. Amazon Web services and Kindle Direct Publishing require you to contact them separately to close accounts you have with them.
Can I recreate an Amazon account after deleting it?
You can create another customer account if you want to, but you will not have access to any order history or other information from your deleted account. Once you close a Seller account, however, you cannot open another one, so consider this carefully before deleting a Seller account.
Can I combine two Amazon accounts?
You cannot do this on your own, but you may be able to by contacting Amazon customer service.
Will all my personal info be deleted?
Yes, all the information associated with your account will be deleted. If you wish to save any of this information, download or save it from your Amazon account before deleting it.
Can I create a new account using the same email address?
You can, since your credentials for your old account have been deleted.
How do I know if my Amazon account is deleted?
If you can no longer log into your account with your credentials, the account has been deleted.